New awards recognise Science Faculty students and staff

19 Feb 2018

The University of Queensland’s Faculty of Science celebrated staff and student achievements at the inaugural Faculty of Science Awards on February 15.

Executive Dean of Science Professor Melissa Brown said she was excited to introduce the awards to recognise and celebrate the talent and skills of Science Faculty colleagues.

“As the committee and I went through the 100 plus nominations, we were not only impressed by the calibre of the nominees, but also how genuine their colleagues were in nominating them,” she said.

awardees on stage holding certificate and plaques

Award winners are:

  • Future Superstars – 3rd year undergraduate student: Harrison James - Bachelor of Environmental Management (Honours)
  • Future Superstars – Honours student: Joint winners:  Samuel Cree - School of Mathematics and Physics; and Joseph Lovie-Toon - School of Chemistry and Molecular Biosciences.
  • Future Superstars – PhD student: Jordan Debono - School of Biological Sciences
  • Rising Star – Academic: Dr Megan Evans - School of Earth and Environmental Sciences (accepted by Associate Professor Martine Maron).
  • Rising Star – Professional : Frances Shapter - School of Veterinary Science (accepted by Samantha Kempster).
  • Leadership and Mentoring – Academic:  Professor Mary Garson - School of Chemistry and Molecular Biosciences
  • Leadership and Mentoring – Professional: Mariki Visser - School of Veterinary Science
  • Teamwork – Academic: Equine Medicine team - School of Veterinary Science 
  • Teamwork – Professional: Simone Fox and Karli Kollegger - School of Agriculture and Food Science.

Professor Brown also acknowledged 734 science students who received Dean’s Commendation for Academic Excellence in Semester 2, 2017 and congratulated 31 academic staff who have been promoted in 2018.