Science Undergraduate Research Conference

The Science Undergraduate Research Conference (UQ SURC) provides a professional platform for undergraduate scientists to present their research with the UQ Science community.

UQ SURC features oral and poster presentations by undergraduate research students (including Honours research students). 2024 will be the 21st year of running UQ SURC, and all UQ students are invited to attend the conference. Prizes are awarded for the best presentations and posters.

2023 UQ SURC Winners

Undergraduate research projects


Does Nannizziopsis barbatae exhibit density-dependent transmission in Intellegama lesueurii?
Presenter: Emma Prewett, Supervisor: Associate Professor Celine Frere

The emergence of basal progenitor cells is not coupled to the maturation of ventricular zone cells in marsupial mammals
Presenter: Laura Huelshoff, Supervisor: Dr Laura Fenlon


The influence of the 2022 eastern seaboard floods on individual voting decisions in the 2022 Federal Election in Queensland
Presenter: Edmund Goebel, Supervisor: Dr Scott Lieske

The effect of steroids on biological membrane properties
Presenter: Morgan Larder, Supervisor: Dr Evelyne Deplazes


Honours research projects


Designing quantum materials: metal organic frameworks (MOFs)
Presenter: Jared Heymann, Supervisor: Professor Ben Powell

Identification of novel immunosuppressive genes in ovarian cancer through integrative bioinformatics analysis
Presenter: Sarah Wilkey, Supervisor: Dr Sherry Wu

View the 2023 program

View the conference program and abstracts.


UQ SURC 2023 Organising Committee

  • Dr Gurion Ang, Director, Bachelor of Science
  • Associate Professor Elizabeth Krenske, Director, Bachelor of Advanced Science (Honours)
  • Andrea Quispe Soto, Bachelor of Science
  • Barnaby Massang, Bachelor of Advanced Science (Honours)
  • Cian Luke Martin, Bachelor of Advanced Science (Honours)
  • Erin Koster, Bachelor of Science
  • Leshan Ge (Grace), Bachelor of Advanced Science (Honours)
  • Parteek Mandhan, Bachelor of Advanced Science (Honours)

2024 Organising Committee EOI

Submit an EOI to join the 2024 Organising Committee.

Submit EOI